Nature Creative

Nature | Creativity | Inspiration

Chilly Weather Gardening 08/03/2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah Wehrle @ 5:41 am

It’s August already!

Plants are going to seed and cold weather will be here before we know it.  Now I have to figure out what to do during these cooler months when gardening outdoors isn’t possible. I also have to take into consideration my very curious cat and very nosy dogs.

Well obviously I would like to be able to keep growing.  I decided to investigate what I could grow indoors that wouldn’t get too big or require too much attention. Here are a few that I might consider…

Edibles

  • Herbs – Oregano and other herbs apparently do great on windowsills, but they need a good amount of sun.
  • Tomatoes – Apparently you can grow varieties indoors during the winter. I love the smell of tomato plants.
  • Lettuces and Carrots – The smaller varieties will work best in containers.

Non-Edible

  • Spider Plant – I learned this plant tolerates a fair share of neglect.
  • Ivy – There are many varieties of ivy that grow well and require watering only a few times a week.
  • Heartleaf philodendron – A tough plant that does well with moderate light.
  • Rubber Plant – This is supposed to be easy to manage, plus it cleans the air.

I’m very intrigued about the possibility of growing the edibles.  The wheels have begun turning in my head.  I have to do more in-depth research on indoor growing.  Some plants are easy to grow and thrive, but only if you meet their specific indoor needs such as frequent fertilizing etc.  I’m pretty exited about this!

 

Leave a Reply

