Nature Creative

Nature | Creativity | Inspiration

Flower Wish List 07/25/2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah Wehrle @ 6:45 pm

I’ve been leafing (ha ha ha) through a book on flowers called “Flowers:What to Grow and How to Grow It” by Alan Toogood.  Pretty pictures inspire me and now I’ve got the brilliant idea to create a garden wish list for next spring.  This book is actually very informative–it’s got photos, charts, instructions, and loads of information for over 200 flowers.  It even has a flow chart for pests and diseases.

I already have a whole bunch of wildflower seeds to plant that I found at Home Depot, so I’m set with those.  However, I’ve developed a tentative wish list of flowers I’d like to grow in the next season or two.  These aren’t necessarily exotic or special, just a few new flowers that I would like to see around my home.

Sunflowers: I’m impressed by the enormous size of these plants.  If they created a movie about zombie flowers, these would be the pack leaders.

Columbine: I love the double flowers.  These are so pretty.  It’s a flower that would look nice in someone’s hair.

Dahlia: Several varieties and colors and they’re all beautiful.  A handful of various Dahlia’s would make a great bouquet.

I’ll have to remember  to track some of these down.  I’m always the most exited to see my wildflowers sprout–you never know what you’re going to get!

 

Leave a Reply

