Nature Creative

Nature | Creativity | Inspiration

Stylin’ Seeds 07/16/2010

Filed under: DIY — Sarah Wehrle @ 7:28 am

2010 is a year of many firsts.  One of those firsts is that I’ve decided to be a collector of seeds from my garden.

A few years back, I bought a great box of wildflower seeds from a local mart. I used a bunch, saved some, and gave the rest to a friend.  And guess what?  This summer, I can’t find them anywhere.  No where.  I’ve looked in many stores and online.  Nothing.  Having recently moved from an apartment to our first home in January, any remaining old flowers were thrown out in the move (there was no way I was going to lug pots of dirt around in the move).  And of course, I didn’t even think to save seeds.

I currently have the last of that great box growing in my front flower bed.   Although I’m told that they are perennials by my dear friend with whom I shared those seeds, I want to save some of mine. And I will absolutely demand she share her portion of  her flower seeds with me. 🙂   Some of those wildflowers are amazing and I’m determined to eventually learn what they’re called.

With my grand plan to save the seeds in mind, I decided to look it up in a book I had borrowed from the library called “You Grow Girl-The Groundbreaking Guide to Gardening”. Written by Gayla Trail, it’s one heck of a cool book. And mind you, this book is awesome for people who want to garden but don’t know much about it.

There’s a section in there about creating your own seed packets and when I revisited it, a seed was planted in my mind.  I’ve always been creative and graphic design is one of my loves.  Well, I hit up the computer and started making these cute seed packets.  And I want to share.

Considering there’s no limit to the designs and formats for seed packets, making these yourself is a cinch. Basic knowledge of Microsoft Word will allow you to make all the cool seed packets you can dream up. But if you’d rather just have someone else do that part, I’m here to help!

Check out these files for some unique seed packets.  Simple yet fun, they can be thrown in the recycle bin when you’re finished with them, or used again next time.  All you need is a printer, scissors and adhesive of some sort (tape, glue) and you’re all set.  What’s great is you can make these and give them to your gardening buddies (thanks for the idea Gayla) or use it as a craft project for children.

Blank Seed Packet Template Word 97-03

Seed Packets – Fun

Seed Packets – Fun 2

Seed Packets – Pretty

Seed Packets – Pretty 2

Seed Packets – Pretty Borders

Seed Packets – Generic (for any seeds, not just flowers)

 

Leave a Reply

